Destiny 2 Beyond Light Editions Explained: How Much Is Latest Expansion, And What Does Each Version Include?

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

Destiny 2's Beyond Light expansion finally launches next week, but as is often the case, it can be tough to work out which version to buy.

With the base game being free, you may be wondering how much you need to spend for Beyond Light – here's our guide.


Read More: Destiny 2 Beyond Light: Release date, Price, New Features, Season Pass, Editions, Subclasses, Trailers, Exotics And Everything We Know

Series S at GAME BF
**Black Friday Deal** Grab an Xbox Series S for less! The ideal Christmas present sorted!

Destiny 2 Beyond Light Editions

Standard Edition

Beyond Light is available for £34.99, or you can grab a version that includes a season pass for Season 12 for £42.99.


The season pass will allow players to unlock premium rewards by levelling up and essentially acts similarly to a battle pass.

The season pass bundle also includes the "No Time To Explain" exotic pulse rifle, while all players get the Exotic Rimed Ghost Shell and a Legendary Emblem.

Deluxe Edition

There's also a deluxe edition that includes season passes up to Season 15, as well as some cosmetics for £59.99.


Here's what's included:

  • Exotic Rimed Ghost Shell
  • Legendary emblem
  • Access to the full year of season pass content
  • Beyond Light Exotic Emote
  • Stranger's Weapon Pack + Strangers Upgrade Pack

Xbox Game Pass

Good news, Xbox Game Pass subscribers.


Not only is Beyond Light launching into the service on Day 1, but previous expansions Forsaken and Shadowkeep can also be found on there.

They're only available on console at present, but Microsoft has previously mentioned that it hopes to bring the offer to PC players in the future.

Is the Season Pass worth it?

Luckily, Bungie has learned its lessons from previous passes. In a blog post, the devs had this to say:


"In Year 4, we are going to build a better-interconnected narrative and, more importantly, let players be a part of that narrative no matter when they enter the current year. This means if you start playing in March 2021, you could go back and experience the Season 12 and Season 13 narrative content. We want our stories to feel more cohesive, flow with meaningful momentum Season over Season, and lead to an exciting climax each year."

"We haven’t preserved enough history for a player who comes in mid-year to have any concept of what came in that year’s prior Seasons. As a result, players can feel left behind later in the year and unable to experience the stories or to acquire prior Seasons’ weapons and gear. The Forsaken Season Pass allowed its content to build up over the course of the year, and that’s where we’re heading in Year 4."