25 Jul 2021 1:21 PM +00:00

Smart Contract Summit 2021: Dates, Timings, Speakers And Everything You Need To Know About SmartCon 2021

If you're looking for all the latest information on the upcoming Smart Contract Summit 2021, we've got you covered.

Smart Contract Summit #1 follows on from August 2020's Smart Contract Summit #0. Describing itself as "a celebration of the rapidly expanding blockchain ecosystem and its thriving community", SmartCon 2021 will feature various talks, workshops, and panels on "the biggest projects in DeFi, decentralized gaming, NFTs, and more."

SmartCon will be sure to garner attention from the wider cryptocurrency community this year, with more blockchains such as Cardano set to receive a smart contract upgrade later this year. Indeed, the upcoming Bitcoin Taproot upgrade may even pave the way for potential smart contracts.

Jump To

Here's all you need to know about Smart Contract Summit #1.

Advertisement

Smart Contract Summit 2021 Dates and Times

The Smart Contract Summit is scheduled to take place between August 5 and August 7, 2021.

It will kick off at 8 AM ET/5 AM PT/1 PM BST on August 5 with a look at the 'State of Crypto Markets 2021', featuring CoinGecko's co-founder Bobby Ong.

According to the event description, topics for the event will include "the innovation of hybrid smart contracts, how advances in cross-chain communication are changing DeFi, scaling security in a multi-trillion dollar industry, the path to enterprise blockchain adoption, new use cases for off-chain data and computation, and much more."

SmartCon 2021 will conclude at 1:50 PM PT/4:50 PM ET/9:50 PM BST on August 7 with some closing remarks from Adelyn Zhou and Rory Piant.

Smart Contract Summit Ticket Prices

SmartCon 2021 is a free virtual event that can be accessed online.

Advertisement

Tickets are available for anyone via the Smart Contract Summit website, or you can access the sign-up link directly from here.

According to the Chainlink website, tickets for Smart Contract Summit #1 "are free but limited" in their numbers. As of July 25, 2021, these tickets are still available.

Smart Contract Summit Speakers

The Smart Contract Summit #1 promises to feature over 200 speakers from leading projects in the blockchain industry. Speakers from a range of areas, including DeFi protocols, NFTs, research, node operators and investors, will host keynotes, AMAs, and panels at the event.

This includes the likes of:

  • Sergey Nazarov, Co-founder of Chainlink
  • Ari Juels, Chief Scientist of Chianlink Labs
  • Stani Kulecho, CEO and Founder of Aave
  • Sandeep Nailwal, Co-Founder and COO of Polygon
  • Bobby Ong, Co-Founder and COO of CoinGecko
  • Yorke E. Rhodes III, Co-founder of Blockchain Microsoft
  • Balaji Srinivasan, Former CTO of Coinbase
  • Robert Leshner, Founder of Compound
  • Alex Mashinsky, Founder of Celsius Network
Advertisement

More speakers may also be announced closer to the event's opening in August.

Smart Contract Summit Livestream

The upcoming Smart Contract summit is hosted by Chainlink, and will be streamed to the virtual event page on Hopin. However, to access this page, you will need to have registered for a ticket.

Once the event begins, these events will be streamed via the Stages and Sessions options on the site.

However, SmartCon 2020 was also streamed on YouTube via the Chainlink YouTube channel, meaning if you don't manage to secure a ticket, there may be alternative ways to get involved.

Advertisement

SmartCon also includes opportunities for Networking, and features a virtual Expo, along with a live chat that is now active.

Read More: EIP-1559 Release Date: When Will Ethereum's London Hard Fork Happen?

[Featured Photo by DrawKit Illustrations on Unsplash]