First Call of Duty Vanguard Alpha Set for This Weekend

The first Call of Duty Vanguard alpha runs from August 27 through August 29, but there's a catch.

It's only for PlayStation.

Xbox and PC players won't have to wait much longer for a glimpse at Vanguard, though. The pre-order beta goes live for Battle.net and Xbox on September 16 and 17 before opening to everyone from September 18 through September 20.

Pre-load for the Call of Duty Vanguard alpha is already live, and the alpha debuts at 10 a.m. PDT/1 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. BST August 27.

Sledgehammer said the initial Vanguard alpha features a mode that's new to the franchise: Champion Hill.

Advertisement

Read more: Where to pre-order Call of Duty Vanguard

Advertisement

First Call of Duty Vanguard Alpha Set for This Weekend

Champion Hill is the next iteration of Gunfight and supports 2v2 and 3v3 setups, where the goal is to deplete the other team's stock of lives in a series of rounds.

In between rounds, you can spend cash earned from the battles on new loadouts and other equipment.

The battleground is actually four arenas in one, the Airstrip, Courtyard, Market, and Trainyard, and the shop is at the center of it all.

In July, the state of California sued Activision Blizzard for discrimination and harassment against employees. Numerous allegations emerged soon after from workers corroborating the initial accounts, while evidence of past workplace toxicity and abuse began surfacing online. Employees formed an informal organization and demanded a better response from management, though while some leading figures have departed in the scandal's wake, CEO Bobby Kotick has yet to formally acknowledge any of the allegations - including those from investors - and maintains wrongdoing will be investigated by third party group WilmerHale, a law firm known for anti-union activities.

Read more: Call of Duty Vanguard's confirmed voice actors and cast