Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4: 14.40 Update Size And How To Download The Update As Fast As Possible
Home / Fortnite

Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4: 14.40 Update Size And How To Download The Update As Fast As Possible

Chris Trout
20 October 2020

Get ready for the new update!

Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4 is ready to roll and will mean more precious megabytes will be taken up on your platform's hard drive.

We're expecting another exciting season in Epic Games popular battle royale with plenty of updates on the way.

Next, is update v14.40 - so how big is the update and how can we download it as fast as possible?

Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4 Update Size

v14.40 Update Sizes:

  • PS4 - 2.9GB
  • Xbox One - 2.81GB
  • PC - 27GB
  • Switch - 1.5GB
  • Android - 1.5GB

v14.30 Update Sizes:

  • PS4 - 3.64GB
  • Xbox One - 3GB
  • PC - 3.5GB
  • Switch - 1GB
  • Android - 1.2GB

v14.20 Update Sizes:

  • PS4 - 2.74GB
  • Xbox One - 2.71GB
  • PC - 1.8GB
  • Switch - 1.7GB
  • Android - 1.9GB

v14.10 Update Sizes:

  • PS4 - 3.4GB
  • Xbox One - 3.64GB
  • PC - 12.6GB
  • Switch - 3.5GB
  • Android - 1.2GB

v14.00 Update Sizes:

  • 21.4GB for PC
  • 10GB for PS4
  • 12GB for Xbox One
  • 14GB for Nintendo Switch
  • 1.8GB for Android

Update Time

Here's when the update will go live:

  • 1am PST (10th September)
  • 3am CST (10th September)
  • 4am EST (10th September)
  • 8am GMT (10th September)
  • 9am BST (10th September)
  • 4pm ACT (10th September)
  • 5pm JST (10th September)
  • 6pm AET (10th September)
  • 8pm NZST (10th September)

How To Download The v14.40 Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4 Update

PlayStation 4

In order to download the update, you will need to ensure you have enough space on your hard drive.

More often than not, the game should automatically download the update. However, you can manually look for the update by pressing the 'Options' button on your PS4 controller when hovering over the game on your menu.

This will bring up the options menu - click 'Check for Update'. This should find the update and begin the download.

If you're downloading for the first time, you can get it from the PlayStation Store here.

Xbox One

In order to download the update, you will need to ensure you have enough space on your hard drive.

More often than not, the game should automatically download the update if you have 'Instant On' turned on.

You can prompt the update by closing the game app and loading it up again, which will prompt.

If you're downloading for the first time, you can get it from the Xbox Store here.

PC

In order to download the update, you will need to ensure you have enough space on your hard drive.

When launching the Epic Games Launcher, your game should automatically download and update.

If you're downloading for the first time, you can get it on the Epic Games Store here.

Nintendo Switch

In order to download the update, you will need to ensure you have enough space on your hard drive.

When launching your Nintendo Switch, your game should automatically download and update.

If you're downloading for the first time, you can get it on the Nintendo eShop here.

Android

In order to download the update, you will need to ensure you have enough space on your phone.

Simply open the game and you should be prompted to download an update.

If you're downloading for the first time, you can get it from the Epic Games website here (you must open this link on mobile).

iOS

Unfortunately, iOS devices will not receive the Chapter 2 Season 4 update as Apple have removed the game from the App store.

Players will still be able to play on the v13.40 update, but will not be able to progress until the issue is resolved.

How To Download As Fast As Possible

Close All Games And Applications

It goes without saying that the more things you're using on your PC, console and mobile will slow down your update as these will take up bandwidth.

Some of these applications may even take priority over your update.

Be sure to close them down and ensure other people in your household aren't using them.

Put Your Console Into Rest Mode

When your console is turned on, it will constantly be using bandwidth to check for new messages, friend requests, and online notifications that get priority over updates.

If you put your console into Rest Mode, turn on automatic downloads or select ‘Stay Connected to the Internet’, the Fortnite update should download much faster.

Move Your Console Closer To Your WIFI Router Or Use An Ethernet Cable

Using a wired connection is the best way to increase your download speeds for the Fortnite update.

Ethernet cables use a direct connection to your router to ensure any connection issues stemming from the distance between your console and the router do not affect your internet stability.

If you don’t have an ethernet cable on hand, even just moving your console or setup closer to your WiFi router temporarily should help to quash any stability issues that may be causing a slow download.

Avoid Downloading The Update At Peak Times

This may be hard for those Fortnite fans who want to play immediately, but scheduling your update so it downloads when fewer people are online trying to do the same should see your speed increase.

Restart Your Router

Sometimes, problems with download speeds are nothing to do with your console or PC, but instead with your WiFi.

If you frequently have problems with your internet even when not downloading huge updates, this may be the issue.

Unplugging your router and restarting your internet may solve your connection issues, albeit temporarily, for long enough for you to download the latest Fortnite update.

Change Your DNS Settings

Other Fortnite players have reported that changing your DNS settings can help improve download speeds.

If you go to ‘Network Settings’ and choose to set up your DNS manually, inputting the Primary DNS as 8.8.8.8 and the Secondary DNS as 8.8.8.4 will connect you using Google’s public DNS and help speed up your download.

*Gfinity may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.