Ghost of Tsushima Shrines Guide: What are they, what do they do?
Home / Gaming News

Ghost of Tsushima Shrines Guide: What are they, what do they do?

Lloyd Coombes
16 July 2020

Shrines are important and give Jin all manner of boosts.

Ghost of Tsushima, Sony's last big first-party exclusive before the PlayStation 5 arrives later this year, is finally here.

Shrines are a key part of the game, with each offering a bonus to help Jin on his journey. Here's what they are, and what they do.

Ghost of Tsushima: Shrines Guide

There are three types of Shrine in Ghost of Tsushima: Pillars of Honor, Shinto Shrines and Inari Shrines.

Pillars of Honor are, as the name implies, simple pillars. Once you honour the shrine, Jin gains new options for customising his blade.

Pillars of Honor were constructed to remember the Samurai who bought peace to Tsushima.

Shinto Shrines are discovered while roaming the world, and are often found at the end of climbing sections. These offer materials, as well as Charms which can be used to customise Jin's playstyle.

Finally, Inari Shrines are hidden away. These can be located by following a Fox. These also offer Charms, as well as fast-travel options.

It's also worth noting that finding shrines is tied to some of the game's trophies, so you'll want to be sure to locate as many as you can if you want the Platinum.

*Gfinity may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.